Autonomous Threat Hunting

HEAD TO HEAD · NO WINNER

Anvilogic vs Cotool

What each vendor publishes about autonomous threat hunting, row by row.

In one paragraph

Anvilogic and Cotool both appear in this guide's vendor directory. Both vendors' own material describes Level 3, Continuous hunting, human review. Both state 3 of the twelve capabilities in our matrix. Anvilogic states queries data where it already lives where Cotool does not; Cotool states names its intelligence sources and states MCP support where Anvilogic does not. This guide does not pick a winner; which differences matter depends on your must-haves.

Guide updated September 2026 · Autonomous Threat Hunting editors

Where do Anvilogic and Cotool differ?

Anvilogic states, Cotool does not publish

Cotool states, Anvilogic does not publish

Both state

Hunts start without a per-hunt request, Detection changes kept in version control, Maps hunts or detections to MITRE ATT&CK

Neither states

New rules tested on historical data before release, Findings arrive with corroboration or shown working, Response actions staged for human approval, Publishes an open framework or specification, States a security attestation, Publishes a list price

How do they compare row by row?

What each vendor states, as reviewed September 2026. Not a ranking.
CapabilityAnvilogicCotoolDifference
Hunts start without a per-hunt requestStatedDescribes agents that take threat intel through to deployed detection logic.StatedAgents gather intel from the web, check relevance to the environment and propose detections.Both state it
Queries data where it already livesStated"One query across Splunk, Snowflake, Sentinel, S3, and more, without moving the data."Not publishedWorks through 40+ native integrations; whether data is queried in place or copied is not stated on the pages reviewed.Only Anvilogic states it
New rules tested on historical data before releasePartly statedDescribes "validated, deployed detection logic"; what validation consists of is not published.Not publishedHow proposed detections are approved before deployment is not published.Neither states it
Detection changes kept in version controlStatedDetection-as-code with version control.StatedCompatible with existing detection-as-code infrastructure; agent version control.Both state it
Findings arrive with corroboration or shown workingNot publishedHow hunt results are presented for review is not published.Not publishedNot described on the pages reviewed.Neither states it
Response actions staged for human approvalNot publishedResponse actions are not described on the pages reviewed.Partly statedDescribes Respond automation; approval steps are not described in detail.Neither states it
Maps hunts or detections to MITRE ATT&CKStatedTuning agents and coverage scoring against MITRE ATT&CK.StatedMaps the detection suite across sources onto MITRE ATT&CK to surface gaps.Both state it
Names its intelligence sourcesNot publishedIntelligence sources are not named on the pages reviewed.StatedAgents crawl the web for intel; custom intel sources including STIX/TAXII.Only Cotool states it
Publishes an open framework or specificationNot publishedNone found on the pages reviewed.Not publishedNone found on the pages reviewed.Neither states it
States MCP supportNot publishedNot stated on the pages reviewed.StatedCustom MCP listed among integrations.Only Cotool states it
States a security attestationNot publishedNot found on the pages reviewed.Not publishedNot found on the pages reviewed.Neither states it
Publishes a list priceNot publishedNo list price. A calculator estimates data-lake compute and storage and states that savings do not include Anvilogic annual licensing.Not publishedNo list price on the pages reviewed.Neither states it

What does each publish about pricing?

AnvilogicNo list price. A calculator estimates data-lake compute and storage and states that savings do not include Anvilogic annual licensing.
CotoolNo list price on the pages reviewed.

Neither vendor publishes a list price on the pages reviewed. Ask each for a written price basis and budget separately for query compute on your data platforms.

Where does each run, and what controls does it describe?

Anvilogic

  • Runs on top of the customer's storage layer; the platform page describes "Augment, Standalone, or Any Combination".
  • Search: "One query across Splunk, Snowflake, Sentinel, S3, and more, without moving the data."
  • Data platforms named: Splunk, Azure Sentinel, CrowdStrike NG-SIEM, Elastic; Snowflake, Databricks, Azure Data Explorer, Azure Log Analytics, Microsoft Fabric, Amazon Security Lake; S3, Azure Blob, GCS.
  • Detection-as-code with version control implies reviewable changes; approval steps for hunts are not described on the pages reviewed.

Cotool

  • Works through integrations; the detect page states 40+ native integrations and compatibility with existing detection-as-code infrastructure.
  • Integrations named include CrowdStrike, Microsoft Defender, SentinelOne, Okta, Code42, Kandji, Splunk, Datadog, Panther, Snowflake, Databricks, incident.io, Jira, Linear, TheHive, Tines, VirusTotal, AbuseIPDB, GreyNoise, urlscan, Socket, Slack and Microsoft Teams; custom MCP.
  • Custom intel sources including STIX/TAXII.
  • Agent version control. Approval steps for proposed detections are not described in detail.

Which should you look at first?

Look at Anvilogic first if your must-haves include queries data where it already lives.

Look at Cotool first if your must-haves include names its intelligence sources or states MCP support.

Either way, put both through the same trial questions, and try the calculator with your own must-haves.

Frequently asked questions

Is Anvilogic better than Cotool?
This guide does not rank vendors or pick winners. The rows above show where their public pages differ; which differences matter depends on your requirements.
Do Anvilogic and Cotool query data in place?
Anvilogic: Stated. "One query across Splunk, Snowflake, Sentinel, S3, and more, without moving the data." Cotool: Not published. Works through 40+ native integrations; whether data is queried in place or copied is not stated on the pages reviewed.
Do Anvilogic and Cotool publish pricing?
Neither publishes a list price on the pages reviewed in September 2026.

Anvilogic alternatives · Cotool alternatives · Open this pair in the side-by-side view · Directory entry for Anvilogic · Directory entry for Cotool